Local News

2016 scholarship awardees celebrated at the 6th Annual Awards Banquet

On December 26, 2016, The Sandy Point Benevolent Society (SPBS) hosted an extravagant Award Banquet at the Marriot Hotel. The New York based organization chose to hold its 6th Annual Awards Banquet in St. Kitts & Nevis to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Sandy Point High School (SPHS)/Charles E. Mills Secondary School (CEMSS).  The dinner was under the distinguished patronage of Hon. Shawn Richards, Deputy Prime Minister of St. Kitts & Nevis. Members of the SPBS scholarship committee and Mrs. Kimarah Isaac, chair of the SPBS scholarship committee  used this grand opportunity to recognize the 2016 scholarship.

There were two scholars that graduated from the Clarence Fitzroy Bryant College. Mr. Dijani Laplace, who received the Principal’s Award in 2009 upon entering the Charles E. Mills Secondary School and Ms. Devatrea Mike, who received that same award in 2007. Miss Azariah Vanterpool, also received the Principal’s Award in 2011 and she was awarded $400 for successfully graduating from CEMSS.