Timeline Stories

The West Indies Federation

The West Indies Federation,[1][2] also known as the West Indies,[3][4] the Federation of the West Indies[5] or the West Indian Federation,[6][7][8] was a short-lived political union that existed from 3 January 1958 to 31 May 1962. Various islands in the Caribbean that were colonies of the United Kingdom, including Trinidad and TobagoBarbadosJamaica, and those on the Leeward and Windward Islands, came together to form the Federation, with its capital in Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.